Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

News of the Day!

Singer Irene Cara dies suddenly

I saw FAME when it came out and bought the album when I was in the 6th grade.

Irenes music defined my childhood.

I sang her songs over and over again, at home, school, talent shows, church events, and for the elderly.

A highlight was singing What a Feeling from Flashdance with a live band to a gym full of mormon teens dancing the night away when I was 16.

I memorized Out Here on my Own from the movie FAME when I was in the 7th grade.

I played the piano and sang that song over and over again. I sang it in talent shows and for auditions for musical theatre. I sang it for my family, for friends, and for the elderly.

I was so inspired by Irene accompaning herself, that I decided I could do that too. So in the 8th grade at the Berkshire Middle school talent show I performed and sang for the first time publicly while playing the piano.

Irene died suddenly.

Jenny Marie Hatch

0 Comments
Healthy Families 🌎 Jenny Hatch on Substack 🌍
Healthy Families 🌎 Jenny Hatch on Substack 🌍
Authors
Jenny Hatch